Minnesota Legislative and Local Policy Update

State Updates


Cessation Funding: Continued statewide cessation funding was passed. The service now known as QUITPLAN will continue to be available to Minnesota smokers through the Minnesota Department of Health after its current funding ends in 2020.

Clean Indoor Air: E-cigarettes were added to Minnesota’s clean indoor air policy. As of Aug. 1, 2019, e-cigarettes can no longer be used anywhere smoking is already prohibited. This includes most indoor public places including restaurants, bars and workplaces.  This was a popular bill that passed 100-25 in the House and 53-13 in the Senate.

Tobacco 21: This bill did not pass, but it made it much further than it has in previous years. Tobacco 21 passed the Minnesota House and made it through one hearing in the Senate.

Local Updates

38 Minnesota communities have passed Tobacco 21 and 10 have restrictions on menthol and/or flavored products. The following cities passed policies in 2019:

January Duluth: T21, menthol & flavor restrictions
February Beltrami County: T21
March Robbinsdale: T21 & e-cigarette restrictions
Arden Hills: T21, flavor & menthol restrictions
North Oaks: T21
Isanti County: T21
April Albert Lea: T21
Olmsted County: T21
Austin: T21
May Lilydale: T21, flavor & menthol restrictions
Mankato: T21
Little Canada: T21
Mankato: T21
June New Brighton: T21
Wilkin County: T21
Byron: T21
July Stevens County: T21

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s